Study Strategies for Memorization

Memorization feels like an insurmountable task, yet with a few a tricks I learned my attitude was the biggest hurdle. Especially in my Adult Basic Education classes, I was taught several skills to make memorization easier by deciding what I needed to remember and focus on those items. My instructors had emphasized particular items during the lecture, or the homework assignments had a few extra questions on certain concepts.

Once I knew what to focus on, and then I would use several strategies to etch the material on my brain, and provide a reliable vehicle to retrieve it when needed. By grouping items and imagining a real situation I was able to recall them more easily. For example, if I were memorizing a shopping list: 1. Bananas, blueberries, and apples-I would eating imaging eating fruit on a platter, 2. Avocados, tomatoes, and lettuce-I see myself tossing a salad, 3. Onions, celery, and garlic-I see myself sauteing them in a pan.

When I need to memorize written information, I like to read it aloud several times then look away and say as much as I can about the material. Index cards used as flash cards allows me to write the information and hold the cards in my hands fulfilling my kinesthetic learning needs. The words and symbols on the card especially when written or drawn with colored pencils spurs my visual learning skills. I can read the material aloud into a recording device then listen to it while driving, sleeping, or exercising to maximize my auditory side.Mnemonics are a fun way to remember things by making a word using the first letter of each item I need to remember. I had a terrible time remembering how to punctuate with conjunctions. I could remember the song from School House Rock “Conjunction Junction what‘s your function? Hooking up words,and phrases, and clauses, and complex sentences.” Our FANBOYS (For, And, Nor, But, Or, Yet, and So) making up our conjunctions.

Mnemonics are a fun way to remember things by making a word using the first letter of each item I need to remember.  I had a terrible time remembering how to punctuate with conjunctions.  I could remember the song from School House Rock “Conjunction, conjunction what’s your function hooking up words,and  phrases, and clauses, and complex sentences.” Our FANBOYS (For, And, Nor, But, Or, Yet, and So) making up our conjunctions.

II also like to use music to help make memorization easier. The Beta waves of certain sounds help calm my brain and open the path for knowledge to be stored and retrieved. The Finerminds Team describes Beta waves (14-40Hz) as being associated with normal waking consciousness and a heightened state of alertness, logic, and critical reasoning.” I also makeup songs using mnemonics or simply telling a story about the material then sing it in my head when I need to recall information. I still silently sing the Alphabet Song when filing documents at home or in the workplace. The only effect it has on others is the ease of finding the files Where they are expected to be located.

Coming Next: Getting Ready to Study

Leave a Reply

